It is Dawn! Arise!

DSCN8744

Couldn’t sleep last night, so I was awake as the morning twilight brightened into dawn and then into full day.  At 5:00 a.m. I took my camera outside to get a couple photos.  As I stood on the deck in the cool morning air snapping pics of the dawn, I counted at least eight different bird songs (plus a neighboring chicken) all singing madly, a melodious and cacophonous symphony,  all around me as the sun came up.

A haiku to remember it by:

 

The sun rises pink                                                              

As winged friends madly sing,

“It is Dawn!  Arise!”

 

I’ve been threatening to work on several projects lately, but have yet to get there.  It’s like something has been holding me back.   Like a hand in my chest pushing against me as I try to go forward.  I’ve let any number of distractions deflect me from my art.  Any old excuse will do it has seemed:  No place to work; can’t find the right fabric (yes, but did you really look for it?); can’t find the new travel iron that was bought to use with the fabric; not in the mood; out of time; can’t find the supplies; just want to lay in this recliner; too many people in the house; not enough people in the house;  too tired; I’d rather watch T.V.; I’d rather be on Facebook,  ya-da, ya-da, ya-da, ad infinitum….but

Today is different.  I feel full of art today. Something about being out at 5:00 a.m. when the rest of the house is asleep and hearing the birds singing madly for me/to me/for the dawn. They are working, it seems, on their art, too.  Singing in the new day, whether anyone is awake to hear it or not.   Sharing their message, and I, most definitely, got it:  “It is Dawn!  Arise!”  

Chat later.  It’s time to go make A Little Cloth.

 

 

 

About fiberninja

fiber artist, writer, nun
This entry was posted in Art, Cloth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

