Bang A Hammer, Make Art

Bang A Hammer, Make Art

I tried something new (to me, anyway) yesterday, called ‘flower pounding’. Just like it sounds. With a minimum of tools – cutting board, cloth, parchment paper, tape, hammer, flowers – I made art in my back yard. It was fun. I needed some fun. Sometimes it’s like a three ring circus around here, with all rings putting on a different and crazy show simultaneously.

It was great! Banging out my frustrations with a hammer while making art. Who woulda thunk it?

About fiberninja

fiber artist, writer, nun
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Cloth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bang A Hammer, Make Art

  1. Is the color permanent? Or do you set it with chemicals? Love the look.

    • fiberninja says:

      One of the articles I read said to set the color with heat, but didn’t say how – dryer or iron – so I let it dry thoroughly and then spent some time ironing on high heat (the cotton setting) and did not use steam. I guess we’ll see how it goes as we go along!

  2. gailabbotts says:

    I may have to try this! Yours looks beautiful!

  3. Libby says:

    Fascinating. I might be tempted to have a go!

  4. Crooked Tracks says:

    This really looks like a lot of fun and great results 🙂

  5. Very lovely … and I agree, it does feel good to do all that pounding!

Leave a Reply

