A Little Slow Cloth

A Little Slow Cloth

It was about a year ago that I first heard the term ‘slow cloth’. To me it means intentional stitching done purposely by hand to create a piece of cloth. And it is a slow process, hence ‘slow cloth.’

In addition to ‘slow cloth’ I possess other new terms: story cloth and spirit cloth, courtesy of Jude Hill and her online blog and classes. See http://spiritcloth.typepad.com/

She has given me a whole new understanding of sewing and stitching. I always hated the standard embroidery with a hoop thing that all young girls were supposed to do, but in tossing out the hoop and stitching outside the lines, so to speak, I have discovered layered fabric and embroidery as an art form.

I love the unlimited, free form of it all. I love building up a piece of fabric layer by layer. I love the feel of old fabric. I can work on it a lot or I can work on it a little, as much as the arthritis in my hands allow. I could make a lot of cloth, but that’s not what it’s about. Mostly it’s about a little cloth and loving it.

About fiberninja

fiber artist, writer, nun
Image | This entry was posted in Cloth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Slow Cloth

  1. Dixie London says:

    My mother used to make, by hand, baby blankets and quilts with free-form designs, using saved bits of fabric. It was an amazing thing to receive one of her quilts and recognize a piece of the favorite dress you wore when you were about ten years old….

  2. fiberninja says:

    She was definitely into ‘slow cloth’!

Leave a Reply

